Carrot Cake

3 Nov

This week I had a delicious piece of carrot cake at Hema. But it was a little dry, and if you know me, you’ll see where this is going… I (think I) always know it better so I made my own, moist carrot cake today. I don’t want to brag too much, but this cake is a little masterpiece… I love the mixture of tastes, and the nice texture. And it isn’t too unhealthy so indulge, my friends!

ps: remember my shopping spree in Holland? Check out the pictures, starring my new tea pot and some really cute sprinkles.

Carrot Cake

Ingredients (for 1 cake, 26cm diameter)

Cake

  • 250g applesauce, unsweetened (if you want to use sweetened applesauce, use 50g less sugar)
  • 175g cane sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 125g grated carrots (about 2 medium carrots)
  • 75g grated coconut
  • 75g chopped nuts
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 250g crushed pineapple (not drained!)
  • 250g flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Frosting

  • 100g margarine (softened)
  • 250g cream cheese (softened)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 100g powdered sugar

Garnish

  • 2 Tbsp sprinkles

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 175°C
  • Combine the applesauce, sugar, eggs, grated carrots, coconut, chopped nuts, vanilla and crushed pineapple. Stir well
  • Sift in the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon and stir softly until combined
  • Pour into a lightly greased 28cm diameter cake tin
  • Bake for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean
  • Let the cake cool down completely
  • Meanwhile, make the frosting: beat the margarine until pale. Then add the cream cheese and beat until fluffy
  • Add in the vanilla and powdered sugar and beat until nice and smooth
  • Set the frosting aside in the refrigerator until you need it
  • Invert the cooled down cake onto a plate
  • Apply a generous layer of frosting and spread nicely
  • Garnish with the sprinkles (I put an upside down bowl on top of my cake, and scattered the sprinkles around the bowl)
Source: adapted from Mom on Time Out

Geef een reactie

